Education and Training Requirements:
For individuals under the age of 18, the State of Wisconsin requires you satisfactorily complete driver education and training program in order to obtain your Wisconsin driver’s license. Course requirements consist of 30 hours of classroom instruction followed by six hours of behind the wheel training, combined with six hours of observation of another driving student. Drivers’ Education of the Fox Cities offers several class locations/times to choose from to fit into your busy schedules. See our class schedule for more information on prices, locations, and dates. For information on our flexible payment options, contact us at 731-2121.
Classes are held Monday – Friday or Monday – Thursday, depending on location. Attendance is required for all of the classes; however, two excused absences can be made up with homework.
Our instructors are state certified and conduct the classes based on privately developed material incorporating Wisconsin traffic laws and driving safety practices derived from our over 50 years of Drivers Education experience. This material is covered in 15 classes, each two hours in length. The class curriculum is well organized and progresses from basic knowledge of the traffic laws and vehicle controls to more advanced knowledge and more sophisticated driving scenarios. Our goal is to produce safe, knowledgeable drivers who, with adequate experience, can drive safely in a wide variety of traffic and weather conditions. Our curriculum is reviewed often to make sure that it is current and that it correctly represents laws and regulations.
Students under 18 years of age must complete the classroom training before beginning a behind the wheel program.
Fees and Payment Schedules: We offer several payment options. You may pay the entire cost of the program upon registering for a class or you may choose to spread the total cost of the program over the entire length of the education and training program. A deposit is required to register for a class. For further information on payment options, please contact us at 731-2121.
Classroom-only Training: For individuals choosing to enroll in only the classroom portion of the drivers’ education and training program, the cost is $200. The $200 payment is required two weeks before the class begins.
Behind the Wheel-only Training: We offer behind the wheel training for individuals who complete their classroom training at another driving school for $300.00. Please call us at 731-2121 for pricing plans.
The standard behind the wheel training program consists of six two-hour sessions. The student spends one hour operating the vehicle and the other hour observing another driver. Driver’s Education of the Fox Cities provides free pick up and drop off of Behind the Wheel (BTW) students over a large area within the Fox River Valley. The free pick up / drop off area includes most of Appleton, Kimberly, Combined Locks, Darboy, Kaukauna, Little Chute, Neenah and Menasha. Call us for information on detailed boundaries for drop off- pick up locations. We offer flexible hours and schedules to accommodate our students but we expect our students to keep scheduled appointments. A no-show fee of $50 is charged for students who fail to keep their lesson appointments. All of our cars and drivers are equipped with cellular phones.
Driver’s Education of the Fox Cities makes its cars available for the state road (licensing) test. A $60 fee is charged for the use of the car during the first road test. If a second road test is required a $45 fee is charged for the use of our vehicle. The use of our car is entirely optional.
The State of Wisconsin requires a minimum of 19 days must lapse between the first lesson and the sixth (last) behind the wheel lesson.